In love with love triangles

Which boy should she choose?

That seems to be the dilemma of many a YA novel heroine these days. To name a few:

Twilight (Go Team Jacob 😉 )
Hunger Games (Peeta all the way, baby)
Vampire Diaries
(Eh, I didn’t care much. Though I’ve heard Damon is the hotter of the two.)
Oh. My. Gods.
(I don’t remember his name now…but he was the more boy-next-door type.)
Wings (I haven’t decided yet. Guess I’ll have to read the next one.)
Wicked Lovely (So it seems, anyway. I’m only just starting this one. So far, I’m rooting for Seth.)

And I’d be willing to bet that there are a lot more that I haven’t read yet. I’m even jumping on the bandwagon. My book will also have two hotties to choose from. (Hottie? Is that even in a teen’s vocab anymore? Insight on this anyone?)

I’ve taken the time to think about the love triangle in YA books, and I’ve decided I like it. Maybe if every book utilized it, I’d be a little put off. But for now, I enjoy it.

After all, why have one boy when you can have two? 🙂 And you know, maybe that’s part of it. How many real girls do you know have two boys they can pick from? Maybe I was just way unpopular in high school, but it seems to me that not many girls have that opportunity. So we live vicariously through these book characters.

I’m a sucker for this like this, too. I like rooting for the underdog. The nice, under appreciated one. Sometimes the dangerous one. (Example: The Phantom SO should’ve gotten Christine.) And okay, okay, there are times when the extremely sexy one wins out.

Do you like that there are so many love triangles in YA books now? Have you even thought about it? Or does it rankle you to no end and you might have to taser me if I insist on including yet another one in my book?

P.S. I’m not kidding about that “hotties” question. Anyone?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading, Q4U and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In love with love triangles

  1. Cherylynne says:

    I really don’t know about “hotties”…sorry, haven’t talked to a teenager in awhile, I guess. And let’s face it, even if I had, Utah slang seems to be about five years behind the rest of the world.

    As far as love triangles, I love them. Absolutely. And I was the girl that had love triangles when I was in high school (remember those good old days? When we were “hotties”?) And Damon is SO hotter. I can’t believe that’s even a question.

    I think the most important part of love triangles, though, is that the girl actually has to choose. Not like Uglies, where the decision is made for her. The purpose of love triangles, for me, are to be a part of the character development. The person she chooses, and the way she chooses him, reveals everything about her. The only truly wrong way to end a love triangle is for one of them to die or marry someone else or something.

    • I agree, I like it when they choose. Although, sometimes I don’t think I’d mind if they died. Like Jacob in Twilight. I totally thought that it would’ve been so romantic if he would’ve died saving her. But maybe it’s because I knew already that she’d never choose him. There was no question, really. And SOMEBODY should’ve died in those books. (Though Bella would’ve been my first choice.) But yeah, in general, I think there should have to be a choice.

  2. LCD says:

    I have a two boys to choose from situation. 😛 Yes, put a love triangle in, I’ve enjoyed the books I’ve read with them. Go for it! ^_^

Leave a comment