Dystopia anyone?

I just read an article from Publisher’s Weekly about how YA dystopian novels are gaining popularity, and I, for one, am thrilled that the genre is doing so well. The article gave me a great list of new books to check out. While I totally recommend reading the article, here’s the list of books mentioned, just in case you don’t feel like slogging through the whole article to find something interesting. And if you know of any good dystopian books that aren’t mentioned here, please comment and let me know!

Book of Ember series by Jeanne duPrau

The Carbon Diaries 2015 by Saci Lloyd
“the government rations carbon dioxide use”

Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
“men infected with a germ that broadcasts their thoughts”

Children of the Dust by Louise Lawrence

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

The Clone Codes by Patricia McKissack (Scholastic, Ja Feb. 2010)
“cyborgs and clones who are treated like slaves in the year 2170”

Dark Life by Kat Falls
“people live in “stack” cities underwater because earthquakes and swollen oceans have made the earth uninhabitable”

Delirium by Lauren Oliver (HarperCollins, spring 2011)
“love is declared a dangerous disease and 18-year-old girls get a procedure called “the cure” to ensure a safe, predictable, love- and heartbreak-free life”

Empty by Suzanne Weyn (Fall 2010)
“What if the earth ran out of oil?”

Epitaph Road by David Patneaude
“a virus kills 97% of all men”

Feed by M.T. Anderson

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen (June 2010)
“Teenagers being grown for particular attributes, like plants”

Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
“fight-to-the-death gladiator bouts”

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Gone trilogy by Michael Grant
“Kids trying to survive in an adult-free world”

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
“Teens fighting to the death in a televised, government-sponsored game”

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

The Last Man by Mary Shelley
“a plague kills virtually everyone on earth”

Life As We Knew It trilogy by Susan Beth Pfeffer
“An asteroid hits the moon and wreaks havoc on the Earth’s weather”

The Line by Teri Hall (Dial, Mar. 2010)
“a physical barrier encloses the entire United States”

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
“hacker kids take on the Department of Homeland Security”

Matched by Allyson Condie (Dec. 2010)
“girls get an assigned mate—and are, usually, happy about it”

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Nomansland by Lesley Hauge (Henry Holt, June 2010)
“teenage girls protect their makeup- and mirror-free island against the enemy—men (a sequel is already in the works)”

The Owl Keeper by Christine Brodien-Jones

Perfect by Peter Lerangis (Feb. 2010)
“the first of four books about kids born without genetic flaws”

Streams of Babel by Carol Plum-Ucci

Test by William Sleator
“every kid’s worst nightmare: a standardized exam that decides who will be rich and who will be poor”

Truancy series by Isamu Fukui
“teens get barcode scans when they go in and out of class”

Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld

The Unidentified by Rae Mariz (Harper Collins, Oct. 2010)
“kids go to high school in a shopping mall with corporate sponsors who watch them 24/7 on video”

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann (fall 2010)
“kids who are valued if they’re strong and smart, but shipped off to death farms if they’re creative”

Unwind by Neal Shusterman
“What if the organs of healthy teens were transplanted into other people?”

Vulture’s Wake by Kristy Murray (Holiday House, spring 2010)
“virtually all the woman are gone after a war”

The Water Wars Cameron Stracher (Sourcebooks, Jan. 2011)
“water is more valuable than gold because of global warming”

Witch & Wizard by James Patterson
“Imprisoned kids defy the New Order government”

Z for Zachariah by Robert O’Brien

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dystopia anyone?

  1. Cherylynne says:

    Geez, I’ve hardly read any of these. I mean, I’ve read the big ones (City of Ember, Uglies, Hunger Games, and of course The Giver) and I’ve heard of most of the others, but still….I need to get reading! Forest of Hands and Teeth is next on my list.

  2. That’s the next on my list too. The sequel is coming out this year…it was in that article.
    And yeah, I have a LOT of these to read. I think I’ve probably read fewer than you have. 🙂 I’m excited to have a list of books to read though.

  3. Karen, why did I not discover this list months ago? I’m writing my capstone paper on dystopic literature (Handmaid’s Tale, Maze Runner, and the Giant’s Drink section of Ender’s Game [yes, I realize I’m stretching it]). I need to get reading!

  4. Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

