Post-Book Doldrums

Yesterday I finished reading DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth. It’s been on my list for forever and I finally got to it. Loved it, by the way.

But, okay, when I read an exciting book like that and then it’s over, I get…mopey. Does this happen to anyone else? It’s not just this time. It’s happened before. I seriously get so blah that often I’m cranky for the rest of the day.

Part of my crankiness is often that the house looks like the Hulk walked in and smacked it around a little. But maybe that’s it. I read this awesome book where everything is so exciting and cool and when it’s over I have to come back to boring reality. In the book I got to do cool and scary stuff and pretend I was someone else. Back in reality I have to do things like dishes and change diapers and dump out those nasty leftovers that have been in the fridge too long. Boo.

What I looked like yesterday when I longingly wished I could be fighting for my life like Tris in Divergent instead of just washing dishes. Sigh. What a better life she leads!

So seriously, am I weird and Emo or something? Or does this happen to anyone else? Spill it. I don’t want to be alone here. 🙂

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post-Book Doldrums

  1. I feel the same way! I get so involved in the characters’ lives that I miss them when the story ends. It’s like saying goodbye to a close friend – and I totally feel that blah, down-in-the-dumps feeling that I get when a real-life, flesh-and-blood friend leaves. Most people tell me I’m weird… I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one!

  2. Kaye says:

    There are those books that when we’re done It’s a little bit like losing someone we really like.

  3. Mom says:

    Oh, no! It’s an inherited trait! BEWARE: your daughter may also suffer from the dreaded “Post-Book Doldrums” Syndrome. Gotta love it, though…generations of readers…sounds good to me!

Leave a comment