Cover Love

I realized I’ve been doing a lot of kind of heavy, think-a-lot kinds of posts. Guess I’m going through one of those phases. So today I’m going to post about something more fun: book covers!

I can’t remember where I read this now, but I recently found an article about how covers are a huge deal for teen readers…more than reviews and all that. Makes sense, right? Cool picture must mean cool book. And you of course want to feel cool if you’re walking around with it.

Here are some of my favorite covers:

Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie
 Love, love, love what they’ve done with these covers.
White space and awesomeness.

Ivy by Julie Hearn

I picked this book up 100% because of the cover. Isn’t it to die for?
Unfortunately, it wasn’t a story that stuck with me, but the cover…Love.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

They’ve redone the covers for these books to make them less childish, I suppose.
But I’m a sucker for illustrations like this.

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie RyanThese covers are so haunting and totally match the tone of the books.

Ok, your turn! What covers do you totally love? 

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cover Love

  1. I bought A CURSE AS DARK AS GOLD solely for the title and the cover. Okay, and the fact that it was a fairytale retelling, but it’s still a favorite cover of mine.

Leave a Reply

