Sucked Into the Online Vortex

Getting back into the blogging world has reminded me how distracting it can be. I love reading other people’s blogs about writing, I love thinking about new things I can blog about, and…well…sometimes it gets out of hand.

Connecting to other writers is a fun and important part of being a writer. Like J. A. Bennett said in a comment to Monday’s post, having an online community of writers can be your support system when writing gets tough.

But it’s a good thing to remember balance too. Connecting to writers at the expense of your actual writing time…probably not the best plan. I’m still working on this, but here’s a few ideas that I came up with to try:

1) Set a writing goal and get writing done first. When you only have five or ten minutes of free time, it may seem easier to go online, but what would happen if you used those moments to write a couple more sentences?
2) Block out a time for writing and work on writing ONLY during that time period. Other free moments can go toward blogging/networking.
3) Give yourself a set number of articles you can read per day, a set number of new people to connect with, etc.

What has worked for you to help balance your time? Or are you just like me–currently getting sucked into the online vortex of writing tips and fun new people?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

