Critique Group for the Cool Kids

If you read my previous post, you’ll know that I was recently very close to calling it quits in the writing department. I want to share with you one of the biggest factors that helped me to run fast and far away from that horrible idea.

I have five awesome cheerleaders for Team Karen.

I know, lucky, right?

Last July, I moved from Utah to Georgia, leaving my awesome, cheerleading critique group behind. I think we tried to do critiques via email a couple times, but it just didn’t work. There was no commitment, “no time,” and it flopped. So here I was, thousands of miles away from my support system. No wonder I wanted to quit.

And then my dear friend Chersti–a.k.a. Head Cheerleader–had a genius idea: why don’t I video chat with them during group? (Aaaaaah! Angels from on high. Singing sweet, sweet music.) We ended up going with a cool little feature from Google Plus. It’s called a Hangout.

Occasionally, we do get a little distracted…

But we’re loving it. I can still be a part of my critique group, even though I live 2,000 miles away.

I’m a firm believer that every writer needs a support system–their own cheerleaders ra-ra-ra-ing them on through the goods and the bads of the writing process. Personally, I need a group of other writers. My husband, family, friends, etc. are great fans in the bleachers, but I need someone who knows what things look and smell like down on the field.

I also need a set practice schedule–we meet on this day, at this time, every week. Be there or we hunt you down. If I don’t have that kind of structure, things don’t happen. And as I found out, I have to have my cheerleaders.

Who are your cheerleaders? Have you found a way to make a long-distance critique group work? 

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Critique Group for the Cool Kids

  1. Cheerleaders are so important! I’m so glad I found the blogging/online writing community to help me through those tough days (and trust me- I’ve had my fair share) so glad you found me through Shallee! I totally love her guts, she is one awesome lady 😀

    • She sure is! 🙂
      I’ve enjoyed getting back into the blogging community, because you’re so right, they are a great support system too. And there are so many awesome people with great ideas and thoughts about writing.

  2. You forgot to mention how your eyes tend to droop towards the end of critique group. Honestly, to me that is commitment! I’d be so like,” Bed time! Night everyone.” Even if it was like 5 min after group started…

    And now all I can picture is Kevin and Joel in cheerleading outfits. Bwahahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

