Back and Ready for Writing Motivation

I’m baaaack! And impressed to see that my blog still gets hits. That’s encouraging.

In all honesty, I’ve thought about blogging for a couple weeks, but really had nothing to say. I haven’t worked on my writing, read blogs, or done anything writerly since the Writing and Illustrating for Young Readers conference in June. I decided that I needed to get blogging though, because it gives me some accountability.

I just moved back to Georgia, so I’ve been in this transition period. But now, even though I have the time to write, I have trouble finding motivation. My writers group is now across the country and I have nothing keeping me accountable for me writing except for me.

While I should be enough, I’m obviously not. So now I’m going to blog once a week. And if I don’t write, where will I find my topics for posts? I won’t. So I have to write. See my logic?

Anyone else have good suggestions for ways to motivate yourself to write?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Personal, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back and Ready for Writing Motivation

  1. Setting goals with rewards often works for me. I’ve also found that, if I’m trying to push through a first draft or something, keeping track of it on my blog at least makes me feel more accountable for finishing.

    Good luck with everything!

  2. shalleemcarthur says:

    Welcome back, Karen! It’s hard to find the motivation after a long break. If you want a little push, you can always send me some chapters. I’d love to still do email critiques with you. 🙂

  3. Karen Krueger says:

    Who’da thought there’d be another Karen Krueger in this world that loves to blog! I’m thinking about doing one, so I typed my name with the word blog and found yours =) You’re very entertaining! I encourage you to keep it up!!

    Karen Kruegers unite!

    • Lol. 🙂 Yeah, I, uh, haven’t exactly been keeping up with it. Life keeps getting in the way. But thanks for the encouragement. And good luck with your blog! If you think of it, leave me a link when you get it started.

Leave a Reply

