The Friday that was a Thursday

Yesterday, I honestly thought it was Thursday. When my husband came home and told me it was Friday, I didn’t believe him. I checked my phone. Yep. Friday.

It’s rather discombobulating to be so convinced that it’s one day when it’s not. Even today, I keep doubting it’s Saturday. But when I check the calendar down at the bottom of my computer screen, it reassures me that it is indeed the weekend.

I feel like I’m in some weird sci-fi book. Someone’s messing with my memories and trying to cover it up. Well I’m on to them. 🙂

And poof–a book idea is born!

I wondered if this post would have a point. Now it does. One of the most common questions authors are asked is how they come up with ideas for books, like there’s some magic formula. But I think more often than not, the idea comes from life. Something we see as writers sets off a chain of questions or a thought. And then we wonder–what if??

When I came up with the idea for WITHOUT A SONG (formerly “Melisma”), it was a gradual thing. I’d been trying for years to put into words how I feel about music. Since I suck at poetry, it wasn’t going so well. The one image that I always had with good music though is that I was flying. That sparked the question–what if you could fly with music? What if music was magic?

I have a notebook where I write down my ideas. There’s never once been a time I’ve just magically come up with a premise for a book. There’s always something I see or hear or experience that sparks it. I just have that crazy writer brain that turns it into an idea for a novel.

What’s your story behind your story? What sparked the idea for your current WIP?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

