Wordling My Novel


This is the Wordle cloud of my current draft of my Melisma novel (which I’m tentatively thinking about calling WITHOUT A SONG). Beautiful, isn’t it?

Here’s how it works. When you copy and paste your manuscript in the box, it comes out with the words you use most. The bigger the word, the more you use it. My two most used words in my current draft are “Coda” and “like.” (My current draft is through chapter 16 and has approximately 41,000 words.)

Aside from looking pretty, doing this can be a fantastic way to figure out if you overuse words. Coda is the name of my main boy character, so not a big deal that his name is big. But when words like “like,” “just,” “know,” etc. are big the way they are, I’m starting to think maybe I need to go reword some things. I know that I use “just” TONS. But I didn’t realize I used “like.”

Anyway, when you get close to working on line edits or you want to have some fun (like me), this is a great tool to see what words are the big ones in your cloud. 🙂

Have a great weekend!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wordling My Novel

  1. I love that title – seriously love!

  2. Colleen/Mom says:

    I must agree with Chersti, WITHOUT A SONG is a love-ly title choice. While MELISMA is beautiful, and has been your baby’s name from the beginning, WITHOUT A SONG is a title that draws me in.

    I adore Wordles…and, yes, it is beautiful!

  3. shalleemcarthur says:

    I’m with the others, I really like the title!

    Wordle is so fun. And definitely a big help!

  4. Nicole says:

    I’m loving the title as well. I hope I can think of something as intriguing and creative for my novel.

    I put what I’ve written so far on my novel in Wordle and I also came out with using the word “like” as the second most used word after the main character’s name. Interesting.

    • I was paying more attention to my revisions after I Wordled it and discovered that “like” may just be one of those words that comes up a lot. “I felt like…”, “It looked like…”, etc. I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll really be able to cut it as much as I thought. It is very interesting…

      And good luck with your title! It took me over three years to come up with one. 🙂

  5. Yay! I’m glad everyone likes the title. 🙂 Melisma was really just a filler, because it really doesn’t mean much. Not very catchy, for sure.

Leave a Reply

