Writers Block

My revisions on Melisma have been so slow in the past couple weeks. I’m doing a bit of an overhaul in the murky middle, and it’s proving difficult. I have to make it interesting while revealing important info. And I started it all because the way it was before was just plain boring.

I’m not sure I’m making it any better.

As I was writing this, I think I realized something. I rely too much on dialogue to reveal things about my world. Maybe that’s why it’s boring. Hmm….

Yeah, my problem is that I have these long scenes with the characters just talking. Granted, some information I don’t think could be revealed any other way. But I think some things can probably be brought out with a scene showing what I’m talking about, which will then require a lot less talking.

I think I may have just solved my problem. Ha. Dang, this whole blogging thing is helpful.

Well, I was going to write about writers block and try to get some words of wisdom on how to beat it. But instead, I think I have a suggestion…go blog! Or pretend to blog. Write out the problem and let your mind work out things through your fingers.

Good luck and have a fabulous weekend!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writers Block

  1. oh ack! I know exactly how you feel. But sometimes, revealing things through dialogue can be very interesting. I think most books do that.

    And good luck on the writing! Hopefully you’ll get back into it soon!

  2. rbs says:

    At our meeting of the Jordan Council of the International Reading Association last Monday, Clint Johnson – writing instructor/tutor extraordinaire – suggested a reason why books will ALWAYS be popular in spite of the amazing things movies can do.

    While movies can show an incredible setting in a matter of seconds on the big screen, they canNOT show what characters are THINKING like books can. And when “their” thinking is at odds with what they say and/or do, it is all the more intriguing.

    Taking Clint’s suggestion, I think I can improve my WIP by cutting back on lengthy scene descriptions and by ramping up conflicts through characters’ inner discourse.

    I don’t know if this suggestion works for MELISMA, but it might! Good luck, my friend.

    • Thanks for your comment! You know, when it comes to giving setting descriptions, you can do a lot with only a few sentences, especially if you include more than one of the senses. Good luck with both of your goals!

Leave a Reply

