Wait…Did I already write that?

I’m doing such a bad job with posting when I say I will. So sorry about that. I’ll try to be better. 🙂

One of the things I’ve been struggling with in revisions of Melisma is that there is so much information to keep track of. I rewrite a chapter and then a few chapters later I realize I can’t remember what I’ve revealed and what I haven’t. And so I end up repeating myself. Or spending too much time searching through my existing chapters trying to find it.

Here I go, still working on finding my writing process.

I decided to try a program that I heard about called Scrivener. The Windows version is just in Beta right now, so I’m working with an imperfect version of the program, but so far it’s been awesome. I can keep all my notes and research documents all in one program, and I can split the screen in two so I can be looking at my notes while I’m writing my manuscript. And I can attach key words to my chapters, divide up my chapters into scenes (that will then all merge together easily into a seamless word doc),  and include notes attached to a certain document or to the entire project. I’ve loved it. It just makes it simpler for me to go in between chapters and notes and all that without having a bagillion word docs open.

How do you keep track of all your world building, characters, notes, and other info that you need while you write?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Q4U, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wait…Did I already write that?

  1. I have a binder, and a style guide to cover all the other things. 🙂

    • I tried doing a physical binder, and I liked that I could brainstorm using pen and just slip it in. But since I don’t really have a desk or table to work on, it was hard when I wanted to have my notes and my laptop open at the same time. Using Scrivener is like an eBinder. 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Chersti!

  2. shalleemcarthur says:

    I have basically a digital binder. 🙂 I have various documents on all my characters, world, etc. But I admit, I’ve tried Scrivener, and it is AWESOME. I can’t wait until it’s finally released so I don’t have to suffer with the beta hiccups any more. 🙂

  3. Amie Borst says:

    oh – it sounds like you would benefit from scribner. maybe you ought to invest in it (or try the free trial version).

  4. Amie Borst says:

    uh – DUH. i meant scrivener….LOL….which is exactly what you said! GAH! guess that serves me right for reading blogs at 1 am.

Leave a Reply

