WIFYR Conference

The registration for the Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers (WIFYR) conference recently opened up, and I just have to mention it here. I’ve gone to this conference for the past two years, and the experience is amazing. I can’t wait for June to get here so I can go again!

WIFYR is a week-long conference in June and the price is phenomenal for what you get. If you sign up to be in the morning classes, you’ll be in a class with a published author and 14 other aspiring authors, and you critique each other’s first chapters. In the two years I’ve been, I’ve gotten some great feedback and ideas, and I’ve been able to network with people who love writing as much as I do.

In the afternoons, there are keynote speakers and then breakout sessions with the authors, agent, and editors who come. This year (get excited) the keynote speaker is Ally Condie, author of Matched. And let me tell you, she’s amazing. And Holly Black, author of White Cat and co-author of The Spiderwick Chronicles, will be there. Her morning session is sold out, but I’m sure she’ll be doing at least one breakout session in the afternoon. And agent Mary Kole is coming again this year too! She’s awesome.

Sold yet? 🙂 Seriously, I think that if you have money to spare, this conference is THE one to go to if you live in or around Utah. I’ve come out a better writer after each conference, and I get to know some great people in the process. So go check out the website linked above.

Also here are my posts from last year’s conference:

A Conference to Remember (with a video of the fun we had!)

WIFYR Day 2

WIFYR Conference Kickoff!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Events, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WIFYR Conference

  1. Liz says:

    I wanted to go last year, but the timing didn’t work out. I’m definitely going to make it work this year, but probably for the afternoon sessions only (stupid work). Anyway, I’m really excited because it will be my first writer’s conference and an awesome one at that!

  2. Rebecca Birkin says:

    Thanks for the wifyr post! I know anyone who takes the time to go to the conference will love it. I’ve been a lot of times. You get a lot at once, and it works out to less than $100 a day for the whole day, or $26 a day for afternoons. I always learn so much!

  3. Rebecca Birkin says:

    This conference is the greatest! I’ve been a bunch of times and always learn so much!

  4. Courtney Lowe says:

    This is such an amazing, intimate experience for anyone looking to write for young people. The interaction with the faculty is first-class (wasn’t Alane fun, Karen?!), and there are wonderful industry professionals on-hand to share their knowledge. Musn’t be missed!

  5. Cori says:

    I’m so excited for WIFYR! Will June ever come fast enough?

    Karen, that video from last year is pure win! . . . Although I don’t think anyone needs HELP to write a bad romance, it just comes naturally 😉

  6. Thanks for all the awesome comments! I agree with everything that’s been said. 🙂

    And Cori, I’m right with you–counting down to June!!!

Leave a Reply

