Slowness and Superheroes

Right now I am trying to ignore the banging that is shaking my entire apartment building. But it’s been going on for at least a week. Lovely construction.

But that’s not what I’m going to blog about today.

I’m going to blog about slowness…well, it starts with that anyway. The writing/publishing biz is full of slowness. You can read any agent’s blog and they’ll tell it to ya over and over again. But before you even get to the “biz” side of it…sometimes writing is just dang slow. And sometimes I get tired.

Writing while I have a very active toddler on the loose–when did she stop being an infant??–is often a challenge. I have to find moments to write. When she’s napping, I ignore the messy house, I forget about the lunch I haven’t eaten yet, and I go to work. I have one and half, two if I’m lucky, hours to get done all my writing for the day. Sometimes I can squeeze in more, but I don’t count on it. Nap time is the only time I know I’ll get.

What does this mean for my writing? One, it’s sloooooow going sometimes. Particularly when I am at the point of wanting to be done, done, done with this current WIP so I can get on with my life…and my writing.

BUT! And there is a but. The second thing that my 2-hr-only-guarantee does is makes me more efficient at writing.

Huh?

Yeah. I know.

Because believe me, I would love to write all day long. (Except then I’d miss out on all the cute things my DD is doing, and that would be sad, but I think you see what I mean.) But I think that knowing that if I miss my chance, that’s it for the day, baby, I actually am more efficient. I get a lot done. In this set of revisions I’m doing, I’m averaging a chapter edited a day. That’s exciting!

So there’s things to be said about having your time torn between kids and writing. I know that I can’t get done in two hours what I would in, say, eight, even if those two are super efficient. But I do what I can.

Yay for the writer moms out there who can do both! We are superheroes. 🙂

PS. Speaking of superheroes…Shannon Hale, author of Goosegirl and Rapunzel’s Revenge (to name a couple), just recently had twins–added on to the two (I think two?) kids she already had. And she’s a writer. Wow.

PPS. Even if you are one of those lucky ones who gets to write all day, if you’re finding yourself stuck on something, try giving yourself a time limit before you have to move on. Just try to pretend you have a sleeping baby time bomb who will wake up wanting a diaper change, food, play time…THEN see how quick you write through that tough scene. 🙂

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slowness and Superheroes

  1. shalleemcarthur says:

    A. Men, superhero sister! Writing is definitely slow-going with a baby/toddler around. But we do it anyway!

Leave a Reply

