TV Man at the Laundromat

Sometimes, I wish I could read minds. But then I guess I wouldn’t get to imagine up scenarios for the interesting people I encounter or observe.

I go to the laundromat on Friday mornings to do my laundry. Twice now there’s been an older man in a scruffy looking denim jacket ride up on his bicycle. He parks his bike outside, comes in, and turns on the TV. Last week he flipped to the History channel. This week, the Travel channel. He stands there, looking up at the TV, which is mounted high on the wall, for about two minutes. And then he leaves, leaving the TV on as he goes. He just puts his gloves back on and bikes away. I’m getting the feeling that this is some sort of ritual of his, because there have been other times that I’ve come to the laundromat and the TV was left on (on the History channel usually) while nobody’s around.

And I’m dying to know what this man is doing.

He looks like he could be homeless. His clothes are old and look maybe a little dirty. His face isn’t shaved. Maybe he comes in here to get warm. Or he likes to get his daily fix of TV for the day. Or maybe he’s not homeless at all. Maybe he was watching these shows when he left his house to go to work. And he wants to know how it’s ending, so he takes a two minute stop so he can check up on the show.

This is one of the reasons I love being a writer. Because instead of being annoyed at this guy who leaves the TV on while I’m trying to write as I wait for my laundry, I find myself wondering what his story is. It’s a fun way to live, isn’t it?

Have you observed any interesting/quirky real-life people that you’ve just been dying to know about? Did you come up with your own story for them? 🙂

Happy weekend!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TV Man at the Laundromat

  1. Um, I just saw a guy riding backwards on his bike down the Main Street of our city. That particular section has a speed limit of 50 and no shoulder or sidewalk. I’d kinda like to know what was going through his head.

  2. shalleemcarthur says:

    That’s totally weird. I once had a guy come in to the library where I worked and ask for a book on birds. He insisted I not say the call number out loud because the “psychics” would hear him, and he had to find this book to save the world.

    He was dead serious.

    I was a little freaked.

    Especially when I noticed the other book he had in hand: the word “TORTURE” was emblazoned down the spine.

    I’ve often wondered if that guy saved the world, if the psychics caught him, or if he spent a quiet afternoon at home torturing little birdies.

Leave a Reply

