New Year’s Goals the Write Way

Happy New Year’s Eve!

Looking over 2010, I have to say it’s been one of the best years of my life. I had my beautiful baby girl in January and everything just looked up from there. Not only has it been a great year for my family, but my writing has never been better and I’ve never gotten so much accomplished.

Even though I technically started my Melisma manuscript in September of 2008, I really didn’t accomplish much on it until this year. In 2010, I finished two full drafts, and, maybe even more importantly, I’ve been figuring out my writing process. Next time I start a novel, maybe I can make it go a little faster. 🙂

And now tomorrow is a new year—2011. Celebrating New Years is always something exciting for me. I love looking forward to the things to come. I remember one year in high school when I was celebrating with some of my friends for New Year, one of my guy friends said, “This is going to be a great year.” He was so matter of fact when he said it that I had to believe him.

And now every year I think of that experience and think, “Yeah, I think this year is going to be a great year too.”

That’s why I set goals, I think. It gives me something to look forward to. Something I can challenge myself with. A new year means a new me. New possibilities.

I have three writing goals for 2011, and I wanted to share them with you. Writing things down (and sharing) definitely keeps me more committed. My goals:

1. Continue to improve my writing process and my writing:

  • Learn how to plot and plan better! I started plotting my novel over the past week, and I can already see how it’s going to help me. I want to continue to be better at planning things out.
  • Read, read, read!
  • Go to conferences when I can, keep up with agent blogs that give good advice, and seek out ways to improve my writing.
  • Writing something every day.

2. Start my new manuscript, All the World’s A Stage (working title). Which means I  need to start researching more diligently, since it’s partially historical fiction.

3. Polish up my current manuscript, Melisma. Make it shine and then send it off to agents.

What are your writing goals for the New Year? Commit yourself and do it! Make 2011 your best writing year ever! 🙂

 

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year’s Goals the Write Way

  1. Amie Borst says:

    wonderful post! and you’ve got some really well-rounded goals that you’re sure to accomplish! setting a goal like “get an agent” isn’t really something we have control over – but the thing we can control is improving our writing.

    thanks for sharing – i’m posting my goals on monday 🙂

    happy new year!

  2. Good Luck! Happy New Year 🙂

  3. Chersti says:

    I know this is ridiculous, but I want to get through 2 books this year. Maybe. At least a rough draft of both new book 🙂 I have so many ideas that I need to start getting them onto the page!

Leave a Reply

