Merry Christmas!

Last night I got to go to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir/David Archuleta Christmas concert, and wow, what a performance. Seriously, I haven’t been that wowed by a concert in a long time. The whole time, I either had goosebumps because the song was so fantastic or I had a big goofy smile on my face because it was so fun.

When David Archuleta was on American Idol, I wanted him to win (sorry David Cook fans), but hearing him live was even better. That kid has got a fantastic voice. And I’m a bit of a singing snob. But he is so right on with the pitch. All the time. And when he was even doing the pop-sounding slides and whatnot, he even had that under control. I never had to guess what note he was trying to sing. I loved it.

(And as a side note, he’s just such a cute guy. You could tell that he’s still an inexperienced and young singer, because he didn’t quite know what to do with himself on stage. He did these cute little waves to the audience, and was just in shock and awe that he was singing with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and the orchestra and the bells. It was endearing.)

I also got some great ideas for my book or its sequels, if the sequels ever come into existence. The world in my book is a world where music is magic, and how awesome would it be to have one of my characters singing with a full choir, orchestra, and hand bells. AAAAH! Awesome.

But more importantly, the concert really set me in the Christmas spirit. I know, that should’ve happened way before the week before Christmas, but December is such a busy month. It’s easy for me to think of Christmas as only a welcomed vacation, or a day that we’ll finally get to play the Wii game we bought for ourselves on Black Friday. I was grateful to be reminded that Christmas is a time for giving and family and a time to celebrate the birth of the Savior.

I won’t be posting next week, but I want to wish all of you a Merry Christmas. Enjoy time with your family and friends and all the warm fuzzies that the season brings. I’m so grateful for you, my readers, who may be few but make my blogging experience a good one. 🙂

Merry Christmas!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. Becca Palmer says:

    Just had to post a comment that I thought you’d appreciate. 🙂 My brother is in the MoTab Choir and he said similar good things about David Archuleta; however, he said that sometimes guest artists have a hard time adjusting to the enormity that is the Conference Center. He said that David Archuleta kept going a little bit flat during rehearsals and that Mack Wilberg had to let him know to pitch it a bit higher. Glad to hear that he figured it out for the concert!

    We did not get tickets to the concert, but my brother gave me tickets to the mini-concert that will be after the broadcast on Sunday. I’m excited to see it!

    • Oh good! I’m so glad you can go see it. 🙂

      I can imagine that it would be hard to adjust…I mean, wow. That would be overwhelming. If he did go flat at all, it was so slight that I didn’t hear it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

