Agent Research

Today I finished round 1 of my agent research. I feel like I’ve just finished a marathon. Only instead of feeling the burn in my legs (or whatever you feel after running for that ridiculously long time), I’m feeling a throbbing in my head. Finding an agent is hard work. And I haven’t even really started on my query yet.

I guess I should back up and give a little more info here, since I haven’t blogged for so long. I’ve finished my first major round of revisions on my entire manuscript and sent it off to some writer friends for a full novel review we’re doing in January. And I promised myself not to even look at it again until then. That’s hard to do.

Meanwhile, I’m starting on research for my newest project called ALL THE WORLD’S A STAGE. That’s the tentative title anyway. And I’m also doing agent research and working on my query. After hearing what my critique group has to say, I’m going to revise a little and then query a lot. Yikes.

Anyway, so finding an agent. I didn’t quite know how to get started. And now that I know, I wanted to pass on the wisdom.

I guess I had a few in mind when I started my search. Ever since I started my blog, I’ve been on the lookout for agent blogs, agent tweets, and all that jazz. So that was my first resource. I just had to find out whether they would be the right fit for me by reviewing the genres they enjoy, what they’re looking for, and figuring out if their personalities would work well with mine.

But when I ran out of those people, I didn’t know where to go. My friend Chersti is in the middle of querying, so I asked her for suggestions. And I want to offer right now to my readers that if you don’t have an oh-so-wonderful friend like Chersti who is so in the know with the publishing world, then I can always try answer your questions about agents. I feel infinitely more knowledgeable now that I’ve done my search. So ask away.

But I also want to give you a link to the website that saved me loads of time: Literary Rambles. Casey McCormick does Agent Spotlights on agents who rep children’s literature. And I seriously got all my info from her. She basically does the google searches for you, gathers up all the info she can, and puts it in a wonderful blog post. I love it. This worked better for me than going to QueryTracker or AgentQuery or Publisher’s Marketplace. Number one because I didn’t have to search out who does children’s and who doesn’t, and even when I used those sites, I still felt like I had to do a google search on the agents to get more info. Casey has links to interviews, social media, and all those websites I mentioned above. It’s fabulous.

Obviously, she doesn’t have every agent listed, but she has a lot. And you can always click the links to the agency websites for a list of more of their agents. I say it’s a great place to start (and for me, finish) research on agents. I found a total of 42 potential agents that my work might fit with, and the majority were listed on Literary Rambles.

Anyway, I hope that’s helpful for those of you thinking about querying soon. Sorry this post was not as organized. I think my brain is fried 🙂

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Agent Research

  1. Paul Stanley says:

    Karen,

    My only advice is to stay focused in your search. I’m writing a memoir, so our objectives are a bit different. I queried a little over 60 agents, had about 15 show some interest and three wanted to me to sign. I feel fortunate to have an agent with such high profile clients. Just hope I don’t get lost in the shuffle.

    Good luck and NEVER, give up.

  2. shalleemcarthur says:

    I love Casey’s site! That’s where I’ve gotten lots of my info, too. Good luck with the additional gathering of agent info! You’ll have to let me know how it’s going at the party. 🙂

  3. A couple other sites I found great information on are:

    http://motherwrite.blogspot.com/

    http://middlegradeninja.blogspot.com/

    They both have agent interviews on their blogs and I found them very helpful. Middle Grade Ninja doesn’t have that many, but it does ask the agent about their favorite books and movies, which told me a LOT about their taste.

    Good luck, Karen!!

  4. Hi Karen, thank you so much for sharing my site on your blog. I’m thrilled to hear it helped you compile your agent list and made research easier!

    Best to you!

    Casey

  5. Liz Hales says:

    That’s awesome your MS is nearly there! Good luck when you start querying!

Leave a Reply

