Fun Feature Friday: Critique Contest #1

This contest is closed.

So yesterday, I had a fabulous idea. This month’s posts are going to be mostly about writers group and how to handle critique, so why not do a contest relating to that very topic? AH! I know, exciting. I’m going to give away a free critique every Friday this month.*

This week the winner will receive a critique of their first five pages.

Point System:

+5 Just for commenting saying you want to win

+1 For a comment about how you found your writers group

+2 If you already follow me on Twitter

+1 For a new follower on Twitter

+1 For each tweet, mention of me on your blog (tweet/post can be about any part of my blog, not just the contest)

+1 For tallying up your points

Bonus! +2 For voting for my cute daughter HERE. And you can do this one every day! (Yes, I know. It’s purely selfish. But why not?)

This contest will end at midnight on Thursday, October 14th. Winner will be announced on Friday, October 15th.

And now here’s hoping that people want a critique enough to enter the contest. 🙂

—–***—–

*If you’re thinking right now, “Umm, why would I want this lady to critique my writing? She’s not even published yet!” To that, I say, “True, but I did graduate with an editing minor, and I’m very good at what I do (if I do say so myself). And at the Writing and Illustrating Conference for Young Readers, author Alane Ferguson thought I was so good at critiquing that I should charge for it (which I’m working on, but that’s besides the point).” So there’s your incentive. 🙂
About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Contests. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fun Feature Friday: Critique Contest #1

  1. LCD says:

    Hmmm…. Now to see if I actually have five pages of my current project to offer….. I want to win, which is why I shall have to check. Unfortunately, I don’t have Twitter (yet) so I can’t follow you or tweet your stuff. 😦

    • Well, I’ll be doing it every Friday of the month, so I’m thinking you might have a shot for at least one of them. 🙂 I’m not too sure if I have enough followers interested in a critique to enter the contests. 🙂

  2. Ooh, ooh! I want to win! (+5)

    Both of the writer’s groups I’ve been part of have been formed from people I met at WIFYR. I had to drop out of the first group when I was called to YW–I just don’t have the time for a weekly meeting. The group I’m in now meets once a month, which I can manage. (+1)

    I already follow you on Twitter. (+2)

    Total points: 9 (including the +1 tally point)

  3. Pingback: Writers Groups, Part 2: What to think about when forming one « Typing with My Toes

  4. Chersti says:

    +5 I totally want to win! I have to beat out Jeni (sorry Jeni!! Next time for you?)
    +1 How I found my writing groups: one from a writing class and the other from a conference
    +2 If you already follow me on Twitter (that’s me!!!)
    +1 For my tweet
    +1 you are totally mentioned on my blog
    +1 For tallying up your points
    +2 For voting for Lois (I’ve been trying for every day — she’s so cute!)

    TOTAL: 13

Leave a Reply

