Book Review: The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

“Come on, Gabry,” Cira whines, dancing around me. I can almost feel the energy and excitement buzzing off her skin. We stand next to the Barrier that separates Vista from the ruins of the old city, the thick wooden wall keeping the dangers of the world out and us safely in. Already a few of the older kids have skimmed over the top, their feet a flash against the night sky. I rub my palms against my legs, my heart a thrum in my chest.
There are a thousand reasons why I don’t want to go with them into the ruins, not the least of which is that it’s forbidden. But there’s one reason I do want to take the risk. I glance past Cira to her brother and his eyes catch mine. I can’t stop the seep of heat crawling up my neck as I dart my gaze away, hoping he didn’t notice me looking and at the same time desperately wishing he did.
Ryan, Carrie. The Dead-Tossed Waves. New York: Random House, 2010.
Read an excerpt

In this companion to The Forest of Hands and Teeth, Mary’s daughter Gabry has grown up by the ocean, afraid of the outside world. When she and some friends cross the barrier and some of them become infected, Gabry’s safe world changes and she has to learn to face her fears.

(Okay, so my synopsis needs work. But I don’t like giving things away. I promise that the book is better than what my synopsis made it sound.)

Way back when I started my blog,The Forest of Hands and Teeth was one of the first books I reviewed. I wasn’t the biggest fan. I hadn’t connected with the characters or the romance, but I loved the world. So I wasn’t sure how I would like this book, if it would be a repeat of the other one. But I loved this book. Carrie Ryan’s beautiful writing combined with compelling characters and a thought-provoking plot and made for a phenomenal novel.

I think that this book will connect to teens better as well. Many of Gabry’s emotions and thoughts were spot on to what I know I felt as a teenager. Her fears were real to me.

And I especially enjoyed the love story. It’s another triangle, but I love the twists in it.

It’s been so great reading all these amazing books in a row. I’m grateful for the fantastic writing of all these authors. Reading Carrie Ryan’s book [and Suzanne Collins and Allie Condie and Markus Zusak (for next week’s review)] is what book reading is supposed to be–fantastic.

*news about the dead-tossed waves*

Author connect: Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook |
Sequels: The Forest of Hands and Teeth (Book #1), The Dark and Hollow Places (Book #3; release: March 2011)
Similar books:

——–***——–

*for writers*

Agent: Jim McCarthy from Dystel & Goderich

A Page from Carrie Ryan’s Book: As you read this story, you can really tell that the author knows the backstory about how the Return happened (when people started turning into zombies). When the characters mention the history, you can just tell that even though we aren’t told all of the details, that the author does and is sharing only pieces of her own knowledge. This strengthens the world considerably.

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

  1. I have to say that this cover freaks me out a bit!

    I enjoyed reading your review. I haven’t decided whether these are books I’d enjoy though.

Leave a Reply

