Book Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay (Hunger Games Book 3) by Suzanne Collins

My name is Katniss Everdeen.
Why am I not dead?
I should be dead.

Read an excerpt or
Listen to the first chapter

Mockingjay, the last book in the Hunger Games series, takes the trilogy from great fiction to an absolute masterpiece. I enjoyed the first two–they’re my favorite books–and I appreciated Suzanne Collins’s writing, but this book clinched it for me. In my humble opinion, the Hunger Games trilogy belongs on a list of the best literature of all time. And Mockingjay is what really put it there.

I don’t want to give lots of specifics, because I know that spoilers at this point might get me burned at the stake, no matter how unintentional. But what I can say is that I can’t get this book out of my head. Wow. Suzanne Collins is a goddess among writers. I want to read the book again already. I think I will.

Something I love about this book is that it means something. It gets you to think. But at the same time, it can be a beautiful story that entertains its readers. That to me is the mark of a truly superb novel. Many things I read serve me well on the entertainment side of things, but don’t often leave me thinking, leave me changed. This book did both. Mockingjay is powerful.

*news about mockingjay*

Author connect: Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook |
Sequels: The Hunger Games (book 1), Catching Fire (book 2)
Series connect: Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook |
Similar books: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

——–***——–

*for writers*

Agent: Rosemary Stimola from Stimola Literary Studio

A Page from Suzanne Collins’s Book: You could take every page from her book, so it’s hard to narrow it down. But one element that really impressed me is how she took an image she started with on page one of The Hunger Games and put a similar image in the final pages of Mockingjay, therefore tying together the beginning and end.  SPOILER ALERT***highlight this next section only if you’ve read Mockingjay***: The very first page of The Hunger Games begins with Buttercup lying next to Prim, staring at Katniss from across the room. A seemingly meaningless character–a cat that hates Katniss. The one thing they share is a love and devotion for Prim. In the final few pages of Mockingjay, Buttercup is the only character who can help Katniss work through her grief. We start with the cat and end with the cat. It’s beautiful writing, right there. Having the connecting images ties your story together and makes it feel complete. And gets people like me to think you’re one dang good writer. :)

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  1. rbs says:

    Thanks for a great review that didn’t spoil a thing; just made me more excited than ever to read it. (My cute daughter-in-law picked up my pre-ordered copy from Kings English, and so I let her read it first.)

    I caught a Tweet from someone that included words like “disappointed” and “let-down”. I didn’t follow it b/c I was AFRAID that it may have been a comment about MJ. SO, I was VERY happy to read your review!

    Nice job! :)

  2. amie borst says:

    i really, really LOVED the series. the first book being my favorite. although i did think Mocking Jay was a tad slow at points, it ripped my heart out in the end. and you’re right – ms. collins made me think. she also developed a world that was so real and tangible….and characters i loved and felt such empathy and compassion towards. to me, those qualities are the embodiment of good writing.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Matched by Ally Condie « Typing with My Toes

  4. Jordan Spect says:

    The Hunger Games and Catching Fire were truly inspirational, entertaining, suspensful within every word. And, I expected Mockingjay to be worthwhile. However, I was extremely disappointed. I know that sequels are hardly ever as good as the original, but for me, Catching Fire knocked the Hunger Games out of the water. Really, it was much more than expected. It is such a great read! I expected Mockingjay to be no worse. But indeed, it was far worse. The odds were definitely not in my favor. I agree with one thing though, she made people think and respond to her writing. But I did much more than think, I screamed. The books I loved were distroyed entirely by Mockingjay, or so I take the book as. I know that most people will disagree with me, and even the Gale/Peeta thing didn’t get to me too much. I’m not sure what it was, that it became dry at most points, that the characters completely changed. I adored Finnick in Catching Fire, and I hated him in Mockingjay. He lost his spark, Katniss lost her flame, Gale gained flame, and people died. That’s all that happened, things became unclear and dry, and people died. You do speak wisdom and you do have an eye for great writing, but Suzanne Collins lost her touch in Mockingjay.

    • I’ve heard from quite a few people who didn’t like it. And I can see why. It wasn’t a typical “happy ending,” which is why I think lots of people didn’t particularly care for it. Thinking back on all the books now, I think the first two were more…I don’t know…entertaining? But I thought the third one was very…real. Thanks for sharing your opinion!

Leave a Reply

