Fun Feature Friday: Local News

Upcoming Events!

Writing for Charity
When: Saturday, August 21 at 9:00am
Where: Waterford School Performing Arts Bldg, 1700 East 9550 South Sandy, UT
A writers workshop with TONS of local authors! And all the proceeds go towards giving books to children. Yay!
*Unfortunately, I won’t be able to go. I don’t have the $70. 😦 (PS. Before you say, “I don’t have the money either,” there is an evening extravaganza that’s only $10. I just can’t go to that either because I have another party to go to. 🙂 ) If you go, I’d love to hear about it!

Mockingjay Midnight Release Party
When: Monday, August 23 at 10pm
Where: Barnes & Noble, 330 East 1300 South, Orem, UT
Giveaways; costumes; a live local band, Kiss Me Kill Me; and–what we all want most of all–Mockingjay goes on sale at 12:01am!
*I’ll be there! So study my picture on my About Karen page and say hello if you see me 🙂

Utah Book Blogger Social
When: Saturday, August 28 at 6pm
Where: Riverfront Park East, 10991 S. River Front Pkwy, Sandy, UT
Families are invited.  Pulled pork sandwiches and water will be provided. Bring a potluck dish to share, as well as a book to swap. RSVP by emailing utahbookbloggers (at) gmail (dot) com or tweet @mawbooks.
*I’ll be there! I went to the last social and had TONS of fun. And it’s not just book bloggers–authors come too! I got to chat with Shannon Hale and James Dashner at the last one.

Local Author News!

Aside from the news that every author is going to be at the Writing for Charity event, I saw a little tidbit in the Publisher’s Weekly Children’s Bookshelf email yesterday:

Nancy Conescu at Dutton has bought world English rights to a YA novel tentatively titled The Silence Pact by Ann Dee Ellis, author of This Is What I Did andEverything Is Fine. In the story, students in a basketball-obsessed small town make a pact of silence — and one girl decides to risk her social standing by breaking it. Publication is planned for spring 2012. The deal was done by Edward Necarsulmer IV at McIntosh and Otis.

So if you were wondering what her next book is and when it’s coming out…now you know! Yay!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Events, Fun Feature Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun Feature Friday: Local News

  1. Renae says:

    I just changed my WP settings and realized it’s the same as yours – minus toes! How did you get your subtitle on your header, Smart Girl?

Leave a Reply

