Writerly Insanity

I’ve heard the statistic tossed around that 80% of all Americans claim they want to write a book someday.

To that I say, “WHY???? Why would anyone in their right mind seriously want to write a book?”

Book writing is hard. H.A.R.D. Which is why I think we must all be insane. You, me, every writer reading this blog. We are not in our right minds, and that’ s why we’re writing a novel.

And if it weren’t hard…well, that 80% would have done what they say they’re going to do.

Sigh.

I just got back from my writers group. Can you tell?**

And I just needed to get my whine out before I could get excited about diving back in. Because you know what? I like difficult things. At least, this difficult thing.

I love writing. I love my book. And even though I have moments when I want to tear my hair out because I just can’t figure out my stupid magic system or I hate, hate, hate world building, I still can’t deny that I want to keep on doing it.

Further affirmation that I’m absolutely mad (in the Hatter sort of way).

**No disrespect to my writers group! They do wonders at helping me see what needs to be fixed. But it’s the post-writers group blues: the overwhelming feeling of, “I so much work to do….”

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writerly Insanity

  1. rbs says:

    Hi cute person. Oh, I’m so with you and I don’t even have a writer’s group to remind me that I have so much work to do! I must admit I NEVER thought it would be this hard – seriously! And yet, I feel like you nailed it when you said you like hard things. I must like them, too, because I do EVERYTHING the hard way.

    I think I need a writing group, but in the meantime, I am going to “Writing for Charity.” Are you?

    Much appreciation for your whine! It made me feel better!

    • I’m not going to Writing for Charity. 😦 We just don’t have the money right now. But you’ll have to post about it!

      Oh, and have you heard about the Utah Blogger social? It’s on Aug 28th at 6pm. I’d love to see you there! If you haven’t heard about it, you should email me. I’ll send you the details. (Or maybe I post about it…hmm….)

      • Renae says:

        I haven’t heard about it, and I’ll try to come. I will post about my WFC experience. Darn. Thanks for telling readers about these events! Take care and have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

