The Blahs of Distraction

Life has an uncanny ability to get in my way sometimes. Sometimes I let it and sometimes it pushes its way over without me asking.

Last week was a bit miserable. I had a nasty bugger of a cold. But my second visit to the doc yesterday brought me sweet relief–antibiotics! Thank you, modern medicine. Anyway, so the writing thing just didn’t happen because all my energy was focused in on my misery and getting myself out of it.

And…well, I have to admit that part of it may have been my fault. In the moments when I was feeling good, I was a little obsessed with watching seasons of Lost. I didn’t watch it when it was on TV, so when we signed up for NetFlix a couple weeks ago we were hooked from episode 1. Sigh. Darn TV. We’re almost done with season 5. (Pathetic how fast we got them all watched.) Please, don’t comment with spoilers. 🙂 I like surprises.

I’m feeling a little blah today though. Laziness has a way of taking over once you give it a little wiggle room. And I gave it the whole couch last week. So now I have to kick it to the curb again. Tricky business.

My tactic today–Write or Die. I’ve never used this website, but I have friends who swear by it. You can set your level of “strictness” or whatever. On one of the lower settings, if you stop typing, the screen turns red and eventually it starts playing obnoxious boy band songs. On the extreme end, it’ll delete what you’ve written. (No worries though…it comes back when you start writing again.

Anyway, I think I’ll try it. I am rather obsessive about saving as I go along, but I suppose I can copy into Word and save as I go.

So…let’s go…http://writeordie.drwicked.com/

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Blahs of Distraction

  1. Cherylynne says:

    You’re reading Pretty Little Liars! Finally! I have to talk to someone about it!!!

  2. rbs says:

    Karen, I just started following you after an introduction on THROWING UP WORDS, and I just blogged about this very subject – writing avoidance – on my writing blog: http://thewritegroove.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/must-schedule-writing-that-novel/

    Thank you for the “Write or Die” link. I’m going to try it out, too! ! Thank you for the “Write or Die” link. I’m going to try it out, too!

    P.S. Hope you are feeling better. Many yucky bugs have been ruining summer time fun ‘n stuff!

  3. Sarah says:

    You’re welcome. That’s all I have to say about that.

Leave a Reply

