The Goddess of My Universe

I think I’ve realized another reason why I like to write.

When I write, I am the goddess of that universe. I control what happens. My current protagonist, Tessa, gets into trouble or is having a hard time? Yeah, it sucks for her, but I happen to know she’ll get out of it.

And her relationships will work out in the end. And sure, someone may die or fall out of her life, but that’s okay because despite that everything will work out in the end. And I always know if what she’s doing will make things better or make things worse. And I always know what the unsaid problems are, because I’m always in my characters heads.

And I think I’m having a severe withdrawal from writing right now. Huge goddess-withdrawal going on here. Because I told myself I wouldn’t touch my WIP until after my writer’s group full novel critique on Saturday. I’m giving it time to simmer, you know.

But my fingers are itching to get into it, so I can have some control over something. I want to give my characters big hugs and hold them there in the palm of my hand and feel the calm of knowing that I know exactly what I’m doing with them and who they are and what they’re thinking.

They won’t cry for no apparent reason. They won’t send me cryptic messages that seethe with anger or frustration or just plain I-don’t-want-to-talk-about-it vibes. And their blogs won’t log them out and delete half of their blog post. Because when they do cry or send messages, all the answers are there in my little head. I can figure them out. And if their blog posts get deleted, well, it’s because I did it.

I need a little goddess power today.

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Goddess of My Universe

  1. LCD says:

    Wow, I never thought of it as being goddess. 😛 Oh NO…. Please say you don’t mean you’ve halted progress with your book! D: I want to read it so much!

    • Mwahaha–doesn’t it make you feel powerful? 🙂 And don’t worry, after the critique this Saturday I’ll be going ahead full speed. I want to start submitting it to publishers and agents by August. And thanks for the enthusiasm. 🙂

  2. Karen,
    I can’t imagine a day without writing! Don’t you have a ‘side’ project to flex your goddess powers over until Saturday? even when editing, I have a ‘creation’ brewing on the sidelines….
    Maryellen

    • No time. 🙂 The critique group involved 5 other people who also submitted their whole novels. I’ve been reading and critiquing away. My writing has been the blog. And honestly, I was glad for the break at first. I pushed so hard to finish the draft by deadline that I was burned out for a good week or more after that. But I’m glad that I will get back to my writing next week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

