The Story Behind Melisma

Now that I have a finished draft (Yay!), I feel like I can actually talk about my book. I’ve been funny that way–I didn’t want to talk to anyone about what the book was about before I finished. Now I think I’m okay with it. It’s a good feeling.

My working title is Melisma. For those of you familiar with music, yes, that is a music term. And also the name of the fantasy world I created.

My story is about Tessa, who has decided to give up music and singing for good, just to get sucked into this world called Melisma where music is magic. I’m still working on the completed blurb for this book. I’ve discovered I kinda stink at that kind of thing.

The initial idea for this book came from my desire to write about how music makes me feel. I tried poetry, personal essays, anything to get it on the page. All that resulted from that was a lame and wildly cheesy, “Music is, like, so cool. I feel like I’m flying….blah, blah, sappy metaphor, blah.”

I couldn’t quite catch it. But I feel like I’m getting there with Melisma. I haven’t quite perfected it yet. Now that I think about it, I’d really like to play with that idea some more. In one scene, the guy who took Tessa to Melisma, Coda, talks about what it would be like for him to be in our world:

“Imagine that your life revolves around what you can do with your music—that you can create things, destroy things, do just about everything you can think of just by playing an instrument or singing. And then you’re thrown into a world where it’s merely entertainment. . . . It would be torture.”

But maybe I play with the idea of how powerful music can be in our world. I’m not sure if it will work in this first book, but since this is going to be the first of a possible trilogy, I might be able to get it to work at some point.

Anyway. You have all been very helpful. Thank you for the brainstorming moment. 🙂

I’m curious…for you other writers, do you have something that you know you’ll have to write about at some point? And readers, is there something you love to read about because it connects to you?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Q4U, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Story Behind Melisma

  1. LCD says:

    That sounds amazing! I can’t wait for you to publish it! 😀 I’m trying to write a book with a friend, and yeah, I have something I know I’ll have to write. A huge battle scene, and I am terrible (in my opinion) at battle scenes. As a reader, yes, I like being able to connect to a story. 🙂 The books I “click” with most are the Redwall books (by Brian Jacques) and the Edge Chronicles (by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell). I hope that made sense, and that I didn’t misinterpret the question. 😄

    • Ooh. Battle scenes would be hard.

      You know, I haven’t read either of those. I remember back when the Redwall books were super popular. I should read it.

      What do you think made you click with those books?

Leave a Reply

