Book Review: Fablehaven: Keys to the Demon Prison by Brandon Mull

Fablehaven: Keys to the Demon Prison by Brandon Mull

Seth knew he should not be here. His grandparents would be furious if they found out. The dismal cave smelled more rancid than ever, like a nauseating feast of spoiled meat and fruit. Almost steamy with humidity, the wet air forced him not only to smell but also to taste the putrid sweetness. Every inhalation made him want to retch.
Graulas lay on his side, chest swelling and shrinking with labored, hitching breaths. His infected face rested against the rocky floor, inflamed flesh flattened in a sticky mass. Although the demon’s wrinkly eyelids were shut, he twitched and grunted as Seth drew near.
Read an excerpt.

In this fifth and last book of the Fablehaven series, the Sphinx searches to obtain the magical artifacts required to open the demon prison, Zzyxx. Kendra, Seth, and the Knights of the Dawn do all they can to save the world from the evil that would be unleashed if the Sphinx were to succeed.

After having read all of the Fablehaven books, I must say that this is the best one. Brandon Mull has greatly improved as a writer, too.

This book starts off running and you can scarcely catch your breath throughout the entire thing. In other words, plan on never being able to find a good stopping point. No matter where you are, you’ll want to keep going.

Thankfully, there was much less nagging from the adults in this book. In the previous books, the adults drove me crazy–“No, you can’t go on this adventure, Kendra and Seth, you’re too young, it’s too dangerous.” I wanted to scream. But it seems that finally Kendra and Seth had proved themselves enough–no more nagging (or at least not as much).

I think the series ended well. There was non-stop excitement, fun new characters, and all the loose ends were tied up wonderfully. And the cover is the best one yet.

I recommend this whole series, particularly for boys who may be reluctant readers. Seth is a fantastic boy character–he’s the best character in the book, really. I’ve enjoyed the series and was glad that it ended with such a fun read.

*news about fablehaven*

Visit Brandon Mull’s website or the Fablehaven website. And find Brandon on Facebook and Twitter.

Brandon’s next series is called The Beyonders. He’s excited for these books, because he made up his own world with his own magical creatures. Get excited!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: Fablehaven: Keys to the Demon Prison by Brandon Mull

  1. When this popped up in my email, there was an instant reaction of ‘NO Don’t tell me what happens’….I’m still reading the series. I love it! I want to create a story as vibrant as this one….I did see you enjoyed it….so I will continue to devour them with glee 🙂

  2. Nicki says:

    I also enjoyed this book… but I might have to go with Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary as my favorite… I just couldn’t get over the Gavin! WOW!

    It does seem like Mull left the series open to the possibility of continuing Seth’s story line and I truly hope he does. Seth is a marvelous character.

    • Yeah, when I talked to him, he said that some time in the future he may do more with Fablehaven and with some of the characters from the series (he didn’t say who). I hope he does do more with Seth. 🙂 It sounded like that might be a project for a while in the future though.

      Hmm…yeah, Dragon Sanctuary was pretty awesome too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

