Would I do this as a hobby?

Today I’m doing the ceremonial graduation thing. Technically, I graduated in December, but BYU doesn’t do a ceremony then. So today it is.

I did an English major with an editing minor. I read some of the greatest literature of all time, I learned how to write, and I learned how to edit (though please don’t judge my on my copy editing skills, because that wasn’t ever my forte in the editing department).  I could go on to be an editor of children’s books or I could teach. But instead, I’ve decided to stay home, play with my baby, and write a book that may or may not ever get me any money.

I think I’m lucky that I get to stay home. I enjoy every minute that I get to play with my daughter–even the minutes when I’d really like to get some writing done. I don’t feel like I’m wasting my degree. Not in the slightest. Because I know I’ll be able to put it to use here at home.

As I’ve been thinking about this, I’ve also been thinking about something Brandon Mull, author of Fablehaven, said to me on Tuesday. He said that when he started writing his first book, he had to ask himself, “Would I do this as a hobby?” Even if he never made money at it, does he still want to write? His answer was yes.

I’ve decided that my answer is yes, too. Will I ever get published? I have no clue. I’d like to think so, but I can’t be sure, now can I? But even if I finish this book, send it around, and get nothing but rejections, I think I’ll keep writing. It keeps me happy, it keeps me sane, and it is something for myself that I can do for fun while I’m at home.

If my writing and my degree turn out to be nothing but a means to supporting  a hobby and never a job or money, I’d be ok with that. I know some people would call me crazy. But if I can add some happiness to my life with it and the lives of my children and family, then is it worth it? Definitely.

So let me ask you, would you do what you do if you knew it would only ever be a hobby? Or do you think I’m crazy? 🙂

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Personal, Q4U, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

