“Write every day.” Ha. Sure.

Why is it that the best advice is the hardest for me to follow?

I can’t count the number of times I’ve heard the advice to write every day. Dozens of authors say it. Dozens of articles about writing say it. But I can’t seem to do it.

I set my sights lower–five days a week. Yet somehow I only work on my novel, say, one day a week. If I were to just take the dang advice, my novel would be finished.

Slump.

I have post-vacation stress disorder. I know that as soon as I open up my manuscript that it’s going to take me 15 minutes just to figure out where I was going in my current scene and chapter. Why? Because that happens to me every time I take a break from writing. Which is often.

I need to get to it. Just do it, as Nike would say. But one more time…

Slump.

Ok, I’m ready now. Off I go.

Ah. I feel better all ready. Maybe you readers need a therapeutic comment to pump yourself up. Go ahead, don’t be shy–post a comment to give yourself a little boost. Slump a little and then recommit. Yay for you!

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Write every day.” Ha. Sure.

  1. Ben says:

    One thing I’ve read about but haven’t yet done is to take a few minutes before bed each night to read over the last few pages I’ve written. That way the next day it’s still in my head. Seems like it might work, if I could just get myself to do it… 🙂

  2. kate says:

    Haha yes I’m exactly the same! Glad I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

