March Marathon Results and More

March Marathon

After writing for three days straight, my final word count was…drumroll please…10,460! That’s 37 pages. Wow, wow, wow. For you writers out there reading this, you’ve gotta know how good that feels.

I learned some great things–the only way the plot can move is if you get it on paper. The sections of my novel that I wrote are parts that have been floating in my head working themselves out for months. And they’re now on paper. Rewrites will be a must, but it’s on paper.

And I have less than a month to finish my novel. April 17th, I have to have at least the first draft finished. But you know what? I can do it. I proved this weekend that I can.

Blog Schedule

I’ve decided to actually have a set blog schedule from now on. Things are a little off this week because I’m finishing up my contest and will be going to the Fablehaven 5 launch party tomorrow, which I may want to post about on Wednesday. But after this week, here’s how I hope to have it happen…

Monday: Book review
Tuesday: Posting whatever the Muses inspire me with
Wednesday: Day off for writing my book
Thursday: Another Muse-inspired post
Friday: Fun Feature Friday
Saturday & Sunday: Weekendy things take too much time, so no blogging for me

Cool Contests

I wanted to remind you of some cool contests. See my previous post “March Marathon & More Contests.”

Also, my friend Chersti is hosting a 15-word novel contest that sounds really fun. Even people who haven’t proclaimed themselves writers could do this one. I mean, it’s 15 words, how hard could it be, right? πŸ˜‰

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Contests, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to March Marathon Results and More

  1. Thanks so much Karen for spreading the word. I think the contest will be so much fun πŸ™‚ And I’m very impressed with your wordcount in 1 weekend. Way to go!! I didn’t actually write, since I’m more on revisions. But I got through 40 pages of revisions, so I’m happy.

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ And that’s awesome you got so much done on revisions. I hope I have time for revisions before sending off my book to y’all. Cuz dang…I wrote a lot, but some of it wasn’t pretty.

  2. Glen Turnbow says:

    Contests make life fun and exciting…. I think I might have to try out that 15 word novel… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

