Utah Book Bloggers Social

If I can’t be brave alone, I’m glad I can be brave with a friend. And that that friend is more outgoing than me.

On Saturday night, my friend Cheryl and I went to the Utah Book Bloggers Social. I hadn’t planned on going until Cheryl brought it up at our critique group. And I’m so glad we decided to go–it was so fun.

Here’s a picture of all of us in our little party corner at Golden Corral. That’s me at the bottom right looking all ugly with my mouth open. I was talking across the table to Jaleta Clegg, who just published her first book Nexus Point.

I was also sitting with Lyn, whose book review blog is called Barding Well.

And, of course, next to me is Cheryl (Cherylynne) from Critiquing the World, a YA/Middle Grade book review blog.

I didn’t actually get to meet all of the people in this picture, but thanks to Suey, I know who they are…

Back row:  Suey from It’s All About Books; Natasha from Maw Books; Kim from Good Clean Reads; Cherylynne from Critiquing the World; Shannon Hale (Goose Girl, Rapunzel’s Revenge); Michelle Teacress; Ann Cannon (The Loser’s Guide to Life & Love).
Front row: Me, Melissa from One Librarian’s Book Reviews, and Cari from Bookscoops.

And, yes, I got to talk to Shannon Hale (Goose Girl) & James Dashner (The Maze Runner). That’s me, standing there talking to them. It strikes me as funny that it’s such a big deal when people get to talk to/meet published authors. That it’s a big deal for me.

In the past couple days, I spent a little time contemplating why that is. Because after talking to them, I realized something–they are just like everyone else that was at that dinner. The only difference? They have books published, and not just any books but successful ones.

We talked about books they enjoy, authors they think are brilliant, how many words they write per day when working on their books. I felt like I was at my weekly writers group, discussing books and writing like normal people. Only it felt like elite conversation because they are published and I’m not…yet. So I decided that the appeal of getting to talk to them is this: They’ve achieved what I’m trying to achieve. They shared their imagination with me and hundreds of others, and so I want to get to know them more. Anyway, I was glad to have the opportunity to talk to them and realize that I can do what they’re doing. They’re normal people, I’m a normal person…with big imaginations and talent on the keyboard. I just hope my talent is as good as theirs. 🙂

Enough philosophical ramblings for one night? I think so.

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Utah Book Bloggers Social

  1. Suey says:

    Okay, so, you need to write another post and tell us what their answers were to all your questions! I’d love to know!

    Authors are like rock stars to me, and so meeting them, we readers feel a bit star struck, really. But, like you said, they make you feel at ease so fast, and then it’s just like talking to someone you’ve known forever. I love it.

    I’m so glad you guys came! It was so fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

