Book Snobbery: Finding something worth reading

Back in the old days, I could go to the library, pick up a pile of books, and read all of them. Most of the time I would enjoy all of them too, but I was also one of those people who couldn’t just put a book down halfway. I had to finish the book, whether I was enjoying myself or not.

And then I became serious about being a writer. And it ruined everything! I took writing classes for my B.A., went to conferences, took advice from published authors, and voila…I turned into a book snob. Finding books at the library now takes more than just an interesting cover and blurb; no, now I have to add a step and read the first few pages. Or better yet, I find an excerpt online and go to the library knowing exactly what I want. It’s awful. I’ve read so many first pages, just to toss it aside, disappointed. Sure, the storyline sounds great, but I don’t think I can get through this writing. Or I don’t know if I can stay awake through the first chapter.

It’s a horrible curse.

So what’s your process for finding books to read? Do you go off recommendations or excerpts or can you still just go peruse the shelves? What makes you keep reading? What makes you put a book down? Have you ever pushed through a book that starts off blah and were you glad you did?

About Karen Krueger

I write for teens when I'm not chasing after two cute kids. I love to sing and eat cereal (though not at the same time), and I most certainly am not a vampire because I'm addicted to sunshine.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Book Snobbery: Finding something worth reading

  1. Suey says:

    Many many times have I pushed through a slow beginning and am glad I did! Many times!

    (Fun to meet you last night!)

Leave a comment